The Cheonggyecheon Museum officially opened on September 26, 2005. The museum’s long, glass exterior represents the flowing waters of Cheonggyecheon Stream, which run through the heart of Seoul. The museum has a permanent exhibition hall, special exhibition hall, educational hall, and an auditorium.
The permanent exhibition hall contains visual representations of Seoul before and after the transition of Cheonggyecheon Stream. The special exhibition hall holds exhibitions on diverse themes not only related to Cheonggyecheon Stream, but also to the diverse cultural aspects of the city and the nation. In addition, the museum offers a variety of cultural performances and hands-on learning programs for children.
Lot Area 2,484㎡, Building Floor Area 5,715㎡
(4 ground floors, 2 basement floors)
Exhibition Area 1,909㎡
(Permanent Exhibition Hall 1,346㎡, /
Special Exhibition Hall 563㎡)
Hands-on Children's Program: critical thinking, museum etiquette, storytelling games
Exhibition Hall Information
[Permanent Exhibition Hall]
The Era of Building a Stream
In 1411, King Taejong established a department within the government (Gaegeodogam, later renamed Gaecheondogam) responsible for engineering the stream and building levees. Around 52,800 workers from Chungcheong, Jeolla, and Gyeongsang Provinces worked for two months to transform what was a natural stream into a Gaecheon. Since then, the Gaecheon has been flowing for more than 600 years as an inextricable part of the city residents' everyday lives.
Cheonggyecheon Stream, Cheonggyero Road
Cheonggyecheon's nickname during the Japanese occupation period was 'city's cancer', and the levee road was dubbed 'killer road.' The construction to cover it finally began in 1958 and was completed in 1977. Cheonggyecheon became Cheonggye Road, and markets and factories were built next to it to lead Korea's industrialization.
Cheonggyecheon Restoration Project
The restoration Project was completed after 2 years and 3 months, restoring Cheonggyecheon over its 5.84km corridor.
Ten Years after the 'Restoration'
October 2015 marks the 10th anniversary of Cheonggyecheon's "restoration." It took relatively a short period of time to transform it from a stream buried underneath unsafe and aging concrete structures to one with clean water and recreational waterfronts.
Admission / Participation Fees
Baby Stroller Rentals
Available (Information Desk (1F))
250 won for
each additional 5 minutes
* The disabled car can get 50% discount.
english.sisul.or.kr (Korean, English)
www.cgcm.go.kr (Korean, English)