Sejong University Museum (세종대학교 박물관)


* Notice for closure

- Closure: Sejong Invention Center construction & collection security management

- Period: July 13, 2016 until further notice

- Temporary opening: Group visitors and guests of university upon prior-reservation


209, Neungdong-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul
서울특별시 광진구 능동로 209 (군자동)


• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-2-3408-3876, 3076
, +82-2-3408-3114

Operating Hours

Mon-Fri 10:00-15:00


Weekends, National Holidays, Temporarily closed day


Sejong Museum exhibits folk art, wooden crafts, clothing, accessories, pottery, paintings and calligraphy collected for over 40 years by the couple who founded the present day Sejong University, Dr. Choo Young-ha and Dr. Choi Ok-ja.

This museum has its origins in the ‘Soodo Gallery’, which was built in Chungmuro, the campus’ original location, in 1959. Needing more space to house additional artifacts the museum moved to its current location, which first opened on May 5th, 1973.

The four-story concrete was built in the style of a Baekje-era tower was later extended on May 20th, 1977. After the university’s name was changed to Sejong University in 1979, the museum was also renamed the ‘Sejong Museum’. It showcases unique artifacts to both scholars and students from home and abroad to contribute to the research on Korea’s culture, arts, and archeology.

Founding Organization

Dr. Ju Yeongha, Dr. Choi Okja

Structure Size

Structure Area 4,959m²

Exhibition Hall Information

* 1F Archaeological Museum
* 2F Traditional
Exhibition Room
* 3F Costume Room
* 4F-5F Craft-work Room

Admission / Participation Fees


(Korean only)