Yun Taek-yeong Daek Jaesil is a house built by the father-in-law of King
Sunjong of Joseon Dynasty. He built this house in 1906 when his daughter was
proclaimed the crowned princess of Joseon and entered Changdeokgung Palace to
later become Queen Sunjeong. Red pine trees salvaged from the demolition of
Gyeongungung Palace were used to construct the house. It was originally located
at 224 Jegi-dong Dongdaemun-gu, but was later restored and moved to its present
location. The shrine of the house that was destroyed in 1960 was also restored.
Additionally, a stone stair of two steps on which flowers were planted was
added in front of the shrine. Atop of the house is a tiled, triangle-shaped
hip-and-gable roof. Sarangche (men’s quarter) has double-layered eaves, while
other eaves are single-layered. Haengrangche (servant’s quarters) has a gabled roof
supported with three beams.
Because the house is more of a shrine rather than residential living quarters,
it has many unique features. For example, unlike other houses, it has Anche
(women’s quarters) located across from Sarangbang (men’s quarters) with
Daecheong (living room) positioned between them.